How to prevent foundation from getting blotchy?

My skin type: Combination, acne-prone skin. Oily around the T zone and dry/normal everywhere else.

P.S. I try to post mini product reviews on Instagram and here is my Instagram ID: skincarejunkie_03 

I’ve been trying out a few new non-matte foundations in the past few weeks including the recently hyped up Wet n Wild Photo Focus Foundation (you can read my review on the Wet n Wild foundation here). My primary goal with my base makeup has been creating a long-lasting, low-maintenance look so I don’t need to reapply throughout the day. That’s why I mostly opted for all matte foundation. However, during winter time, I want a satin finish makeup base from time to time. The main challenge for me is that non-matte foundations (high-end or drugstore) usually will look blotchy around my T Zone after 5-6 hours. I’ve tried different powders, setting sprays and blotting papers, but none really worked that well.

What I found from all the wear tests I’ve done lately is that it might not have anything to do with the foundation, the primer, or powder! Instead, take a look at your skincare routine and consider trying a different moisturizer. This could completely change how the foundation looks and lasts on your skin. I was previously using Clarins extra firming day cream. It was very hydrating (I didn’t really see any firming results though) as a moisturizer but it turns out that it was the main reason why any satin/glowy foundations do not wear well on my face. 

How did I find out? After I used up the Clarins day cream, I switched to a deluxe travel size jar of Kale + Spinach + Hyaluronic Acid Age Prevention Cream from Youth To The People (I think I got it in a beauty box). I’d never heard of this brand or used its products before so I didn’t have any expectations. However, I was pleasantly surprised as this is probably the most lightweight moisturizer I’ve ever tried in the cream texture. It almost feels like a gel but does not peel or flake under sunscreen like most gels do on my face. Ever since I started using this cream, I found that I can pull off those hydrating foundations a lot better. They last longer on me (2-3 hours more at least) and my pores are not accentuated around my T Zone at the end of the day.

youthtothepeople_kale cream.jpg

I don’t think you need to go out and by this cream in particular. But if you are having trouble with your foundation, I do think it’s worth taking another look at the moisturizer you are using prior to applying makeup as that could be the ultimate differentiator in your whole makeup look that you might have overlooked.

Thanks for stopping by and hope this helps!

14 thoughts on “How to prevent foundation from getting blotchy?

Leave a Reply

