First attempt at depotting makeup- how I failed 

If you are not familiar with the concept of depotting, it is a process to take out the actual pan with the product out of its original packaging, whether it’s a stand-alone packaging or a palette.

I decided to try it out as my everyday makeup drawers are not that deep and I wanted to save space and make the best use of Z palettes. I chose my favorite drugstore blush Essence silky touch blush in the shade 10 Adorable.

Step-by-step how-to guide & lessons learned throughout the process:

  • I used a lighter to heat up the bottom of the pan to loosen up the glue. As you can see from the picture, the plastic bottom turned black pretty quickly. So I don’t recommend this approach. Instead, you can use a hair straightener, a steamer and put the pan on top of the surface (add a layer of sheet in between so that the plastic melt doesn’t stain your tool). Depending on the temperature, you can wait 10-15 minutes before examining the product.
  • Then I used a small knife to get under the pan to dig it out. My knife ended up breaking up, so I highly recommend using a metal pin instead so that you don’t hurt yourself!
  • You have to be patient and careful throughout the process or you are likely to crack up the product in the pan as I did. But with some oil, you can press the powder back together. Mine looks bad lol but I guess it’s still usable.
  • If you have never depotted makeup before, I suggest starting out with cheaper products so that you won’t be crying over a $50 palette and cheaper products’ packaging are usually not too gorgeous to break up.
  • You may also want to take a photo of the product and its shade before you throw away the packaging for future shade references.

4 thoughts on “First attempt at depotting makeup- how I failed 

Leave a Reply

