The 2 palettes that I am reviewing today are the e.l.f. illuminating palette ($6) and the prism eyeshadow palette Sunset ($10). These are my first e.l.f. palettes and I wanted to share with you my thoughts, hoping they will help you decide whether you might want to give them a try.

Packaging-wise, they are pretty sleek as you can see from the photo below. I’m not sure whether they are durable yet as the biggest problem with drugstore cosmetics is that they tend to break apart more easily due to more flimsy cases. When new, they do look and feel nice. Although I don’t usually use the mirrors in a palette, it’s nice for them to include one.

fullsizerender-7

L: Illuminating Palette R: Prism Eyeshadow Palette

fullsizerender

Now when it comes to the actual products, here are some pros & cons of each palette. First, with the illuminating palette, here is how the palette looks like just after one use:

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

I think you can probably tell from the picture above that this palette is extremely powdery. I can actually see powders falling off my face when I was using a fluffy brush to tap it on my face, which looks kind of funny πŸ™‚ That’s probably the biggest con of this palette and is the reason why people don’t like it. Here are the swatches of the 4 shades clockwise on my arm.

IMG_0533.JPG

Shades clockwise in the palette are swatched from left to right 

My arm has been tanned in the summer so the 3rd nudeish shade is not showing up on my skin. The first shade which looks like banana powder in the pan ends up looking pearly white, and it definitely does a great job of brightening my face when I used it in my undereye area but you can’t use it if you don’t have smooth skin texture as it will emphasize the uneveness on your skin. The 2nd shade which looks light pink in the pan looks nice as it’s subtle but still adds illumination to the skin. The 4th darkest shade in the pan actually looks nice as a illuminating bronzer or blush topper on my skin – you can see more clearly in the photo below – it’s the one on the far left.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Left: Darkest shade in the pan

I also tried swirling all 4 powders and applying it all over my face and it definitely does a good job of adding a layer of sheen to your look. I had to be careful to not overdose on the banana powder shade as it shows up on my skin (fair skin with neutral to yellow undertone) pretty obviously. One nice thing about this palette is that the powders look finely milled when they are on your face despite how powdery they feel when you tap your brush in. As its name suggests, it illuminates your face instead of acting as beaming highlights although I can use the first banana shade as a highlight for my skin tone. If you are looking for a powder that doesn’t give you a matte, flat finish, try this out. I think it’s worth the $6 price tag.

Now when it comes to the eyeshadow palette, it definitely beat my expectation as I didn’t hope much for a $10 palette and its pigmentation and shimmery looks leave me awed. Here are the swatches:

fullsizerender-5

e.l.f. prism eyeshadow palette sunset

fullsizerender-6

All 6 shades are shimmery shades so you do need another 1 or 2 matte shades to complete a look. They look even more beautiful on my eyes when I try them out with a primer and last 7-8 hours. In the pan itself the golden shade stands out but when I swatch them I like the 3rd pink-champagne shade the most as it has a coral and gold tone to it, which looks very flattering with brown eyes. I also like how the overall blended look shows up on my eyes as it gives me a very soft look, which is hard to imagine given how shimmery they look in the pan. I think it’s mostly because these shades don’t have glitter in them and the colors complement each other nicely so none stands out too much. I like a softer look so if you are looking for a bold statement look, this might not be a good choice for you.

Hope this might be helpful to you and thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

