August beauty empties part 2 – feat. Estée Lauder, Korres, La Prairie

iTo follow up on my previous post, I wanted to share the rest of beauty products I’ve used up recently and my mini reviews as usual. This time it’s mostly high-end skincare products.

Unlike makeup, I’m much more picky when it comes to skincare. I only repurchase things with visible results. If you’ve been using skincare products that you feel do nothing to your skin, don’t think all things are created equal and skincare products are all similar placebos.  They are NOT. If you take some time to explore and research, you will find better products out there that can help make your skin plumper, softer and brighter, if not immediately at least in a few weeks. Don’t simply dismiss the technology and R&D research investment these beauty companies have achieved over the past decades.


In the empties above, the only thing I’m going to consider repurchase is the Dr.Dennis Gross alpha beta peel pads. These are acid pads so they will sting a little bit especially if you have sensitive skin but it doesn’t make your skin red like some other acid products do. The results are almost instant as you will find your skin a little brighter and clearer after a few uses. I highly recommend it to people with acne and uneven pigmentation issues.

The Amika dry shampoo smells so much better than all the other dry shampoos I’ve tried but it doesn’t really help add volume and texture to my hair which is what I’m looking for in a dry shampoo so I will not repurchase. I will also not repurchase the Estee Lauder advanced night repair serum. I didn’t find any other results from using it diligently for a few months at night except for hydration and there are so many good serum out there if you are just looking for moisturizing results.


I might repurchase the Clarins Iris alcohol free toner as it offers decent refreshing and clearing effects I’m looking for in a toner in the summer time.

I will definitely repurchase the La Prairie eye serum despite its hefty price tag. This small bottle works wonders in reducing fine lines and dry lines under the eyes if you use it on a daily basis. Since I’ve switched to other eye serum, I noticed how the lines under my eyes become more obvious over time. So this is something worth a splurge.

I was disappointed in the Korres brightening facial mask. Although it does make your face a little bit brighter, the smell was overwhelming and skincare products in general should not use a lot of fragrance to avoid inflammation and irritation.

I was also not impressed with the Ole Henriksen overnight resurfacer. Although it claims to treat your skin hyperpigmentation and breakout  problems, it didn’t create any visible improvement to my skin texture. It also doesn’t agree with other cream I apply after it at night. I’m glad I only bought a tiny jar to try it out. The only Ole Henriksen product I like is its orange bottle of vitamin serum.

This Garnier cleansing water is only available in UK. It feels exactly the same as water and doesn’t create any oily film some people get with the Garnier micellar water in the US. I think it is a tiny bit better than the one sold in the US but it’s probably not worth the trouble to buy it from there.

These are most of my recen beauty empties and hopefully you find it helpful. Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “August beauty empties part 2 – feat. Estée Lauder, Korres, La Prairie

  1. Great post! Have you ever tried Biologique Regeriche P50? While I enjoy the Dr. Dennis Gross peel pads, P50 really takes the cake. It also doesn’t hurt that while the cost roughly the same, you get much more use from the P50 because you don’t have to pay for the individual packaging and the pads themselves. I believe you get 35 treatments for roughly $90 with the peel pads but I want to say I paid roughly $100 for the P50 and used it regularly for at least the past 6 months and I’ve barely made a dent in the bottle. Just something to consider 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

