The wierd thing of being a beauty lover is that no matter how fast I go through products, the stash doesn’t seem to shrink. Nevertheless I always feel content  and good about myself when I use up products. This month is no exception except that I also purged some makeup products that didn’t work for me.

Here are the empties and makeup purge from a recent drawer cleanup.

Among the empties, I want to share my thoughts of 6 products, 3 skincare and 3 makeup.

  • Lancôme eye lip makeup remover

This has been in the market for a long time and I’m so happy I’m rediscovering it after a few years. If you have sensitive eyes and use waterproof eyeshadow or mascara, look no further than this powerful yet gentle makeup remover. If you haven’t tried it, don’t hesitate next time when you need a new eye/lip makeup remover. I’ve not yet heard any negative feedback from my friends who have used it.

  • Loreal double ended mascara

This is the chubby tube with the red and while color in the box. It is only available online I believe from Amazon or Drugstore.com. This is another repurchase for me and it is a high impact mascara. The white end is a primer and instantly lengthens your lashes while the black end adds volume and holds the curl all day long. This is great for someone who wants dramatic lashes.

  • Lancome hypnose mascara

Again, a repurchase and rediscovery item. I didn’t realize I’ve been going back to old favorites a lot this month until I’m writing this post but hey classic is the best! I assume if you’ve been in the beauty community for a while, you probably are no stranger to this star mascara from Lamcome. It adds ton of volume to your lashes and if you use an curler prior to application, it also holds your curl all day long.

  • Sisley Paris black rose cream mask

Amazing is the word I can think of when it comes to this mask. It brightens, hydrates and softens your skin after only one or two uses. Sisley is a great skincare brand that’s natural, plant-bases and they’ve recently launched a $10 monthly skincare subscription – see my post here for more details.

  • Eucerin moisturizing cream 

My recent favorite drugstore product to use as hand cream. No scent, deeply hydrating and not overly greasy. I will get back to it in the winter time.

  • Fresh black tea mask

If you didn’t see it in the picture above, it’s the tiny jar next to the Sisley mask tube. I actually asked for the sample from Sephora. I don’t like it. I didn’t use up this tiny jar as I feel it did nothing to my skin. I don’t know if it’s the sample as they take it out from the tester jar and it could have expired or dried out, but it’s just not living up to the hype. If you’ve tried it and loved it, can you let me know in comments and tell me your skin type?

Now when it comes to the makeup purge shown in the second photo and the one above, I’m particularly disappointed in the cream contour pallete from Anastasia. Contour & Anastasia, both are one of these’hottest’ words in the 2015 beauty world and I really wanted to make it work but it just didn’t.

I didn’t like it for the following reasons:

  • The cream shades dry out quickly, makes it very hard to blend out.
  • The contour shades are too warm for my fair/light skin tone and I don’t like orange contour colors.
  • The palette is in a filmsy cardboard packet, which accelerates the dry-out process of the cream shades.

I know if you add some facial oil to these shades, it probably will add some life to them and make them usable again but because I don’t even like the contour shades I just didn’t bother to go through these. The only usage I got out from it was from the lighter shades which can be used as concealers under the eyes but they are not irreplaceable.

I regret purchasing it without looking at the mixed reviews first as a lot if people had similar issues as I do with this pallete. If you are considering it, I’d recommend against it.

That’s it for this post and if you are interested to know how any other products performed from the photos above, let me know in comments.

Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “June beauty empties – feat. Lancome, Anastasia, Loreal, Sisley Paris

Leave a Reply

