Sunscreen review: CōTZ, the healthier sunscreen, SPF 40

Now is really the season to stock up on sunscreen. Did you know that you have to apply an amount that equals to the size of a quarter coin of sunscreen to your face every time or you might as well skip it as insufficient protection amounts to nothing?

It seems that consumers are smarter about beauty products as many brands are coming out with “healthier” version of products including sunscreen.

Today I wanted to share a quick review of the CōTZ sunscreen. I received a deluxe sample of this “healthier sunscreen” in my Allure May beauty box (see what else are in this great beauty box here). I’ve been testing it out in the past few weeks and by now I’ve used up the tube and hopefully you might find this review helpful.

CotzNaturalFace

Image credit: Cotz official site

Here is the product description from the CōTZ website:

  • A Balanced & Natural Mineral Complex with Zinc Oxide & Titanium Dioxide that feels silky & soft and blends translucent, with a sheer matte finish.
  • Lightly tinted to instantly enhance skin radiance.
  • Non-Comedogenic, Hypo-Allergenic.
  • Superior protection against sun-accelerated fine-lines, wrinkles and dark spots has never felt this nice.

I only partially agree with its claim and here are my honest thoughts about it:

What I like about it:

  • It’s a physical, non-chemical sunscreen so there is less likelihood that it will irritate your skin.
  • It’s broad spectrum SPF 40 so offers enough protection for daily use.
  • It’s easy to take off at the end of the day.
  • Even though it looks slightly tinted out of the tube, when you apply it to the face, it’s almost translucent and does not leave a white cast on your face.

What I don’t like about it:

  • Although it claims to be non-greasy, oil free, in reality it’s quite oily and remains so after I wait for it to sink in after 2-3 minutes of application. So far it hasn’t caused any break-out on my face but I’m not a big fan of the texture. I don’t know if mineral sunscreen just doesn’t hug my skin as I have similar issue with other brands’ mineral sunscreens which are also supposed to be non-greasy.
  • It also claims to leave a matte finish on your face. On my combination skin, the oily texture makes me glow (not in the most flattering way though). I think people with dry skin might really love it for its dewy finish on their faces. If you have combination or oily skin, I’d say be cautious. At least try a sample before committing.

Overall, I don’t think it’s a bad product but it’s not my favorite. I will not repurchase it. My favorite is still the Shisedo urban environment oil-free UV protector SPF42 (you can see my mini review of this sunscreen in my earlier post here).

What’s your favorite sunscreen and what’s your skin type? I’d like to hear your thoughts.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sunscreen review: CōTZ, the healthier sunscreen, SPF 40

Leave a Reply

