Are you overdue for a makeup purge? Simple tips on keeping a leaner beauty stash.

Hey guys! Hope everyone is enjoying their relaxing Sunday and the remainder of the always-so-short weekend πŸ™‚

Today I wanted to share a mini beauty purge I did this morning . It’s not a big purge as I’m trying to keep a lean beauty stash (we only have one face, two eyes and one lip, let’s be realistic πŸ™‚

Frankly speaking, sometimes it’s really hard to resist the temptation to buy new products especially when there is a big promotion, but I know clutter makes me anxious and upset. So I now adhere to these principle below to help tidy up my dresser:

  • If I buy a new item, I need to get rid of an older one that serves the similar purpose. If you already own something that’s really good, it becomes more difficult to replace it. So a lot of times, spending a bit more to get a better product saves money in the long term.
  • I only buy makeup organizers once a year and if I fill up the drawers/containers, I will need to get rid of things in there n order to fit in new ones. I’d like to keep a minimalist look for the top of my dresser and too many organizers just make it look messy. Paradox huh, these organizers are supposed to help you keep things tidy but it will not work if you simply have too big of a pile.
  • Schedule a purge once every 6 months so you can get rid of expired or broken products. Creamy makeup products (think of gel eyeliners, mascaras, creamy blush, etc.) expire sooner than powdery products but those powder no matter how good they are don’t last a lifetime!

Without further due, here are the items that I’m getting rid of:

The Lancome toner is not bad, but it is just not the best friend for combination to oily skin. I’ve replaced it with a Clarins toner below. The serum was almost used up in the picture above but I don’t think it’s my favorite. Clarins products usually have natural ingredients but not all of their products work for my skin either. I feel their products are better suited for dry/normal skin types.

Clarins water.JPG

The 3-layer Givenchy makeup compact costs over $80 but it’s a regret buy for me. The case is sturdy and beautiful but it’s also bulky and heavy. I don’t like the eyeshadows as they are all shimmery eyeshadows with severe falloff issues. The lipgloss, mascara and eyeliners are okay. The only items I like are the face powder and the blush. The powder is effective in controlling shine on oily skin and the blush color is pretty, subtle and durable (does not wear off for at least 6-8 hours). The brush that comes with the compact is not functional, and appears cheap for a high-end product. Overall, I don’t recommend this compact despite its beautiful packaging. I might repurchase just a face powder & cheek palette from Givenchy in the future.

The eyeshadow I’m getting rid of is from Sleek (a UK brand and I bought in on Amazon) and it’s my second palette. Almost all the shades are beautiful, highly pigmented and and do not have serious falloff issue as long as you apply eye primers beforehand. I use the Urban Decay eye primer and a little goes a long way in the tube. The only complaint I have is that the packaging, as sleek as it looks like, is not sturdy and I’ve broken both 2 palettes. I’m going to try a new eyeshadow palette from Tarte next as Tarte has a more natural formula and people seem to love Tarte palettes.

Tarte eyeshadow and cheek pallate.JPG

Lastly, I’m also getting rid of a heated eyelash curler I don’t even remember when I bought it. I haven’t been using it in the past year as I’ve found my favorite two below: one is from Kevyn Aucoin and the other is from Shu Uemura. Both are amazing!! They curl my otherwise completely flat eyelashes to a crazy angle (good crazy) and the results last for at least 10 hours.

eyelash curler

That’s it from my small purge. How often do you go through a purge and what are the tips that you find helpful to help you organize your beauty stash? Please share in comments πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Are you overdue for a makeup purge? Simple tips on keeping a leaner beauty stash.

Leave a Reply

