Hair type: normal to oily scalp with mild dandruff concern, dry hair end with splits sometimes.

I used to pay no attention to hair products until I feel my hair has lost its smooth healthy texture and I started to have dandruff concern. It all starts with the scalp and scalp is in essence part of the skin so we should treat it with more attention like every girl does with skincare. I can already feel my scalp is gradually improving after I started using more professional hair products.

Christophe Robin cleansing purifying scrub with sea salt 

$52 8.33 oz 

Available at Sephora 

I first heard of this product from an Asian blog and leaned that it’s apparently an amazing scrub that not only cleans your scalp, leaving it dandruff free but also adds a ton of volume to one’s hair. I bought it immediately after Sephora started to carry it a few months ago. I was sold completely after the first use. It has the deep cleaning impact to your scalp yet does not irritate sensitive skin. The most appealing aspect to me is that the effect will last for 2 days and your hair even looks better on the 2nd day. 

Although it’s not a cheap product, one jar can last a while as you only need less than a tablespoon each time and I alternate it with other shampoos so only use it 1-2 times a day. 

Cons: 

You need to use a conditioner with this product or the end will feel a bit dry. 

Also this is more of a scrub than a shampoo so you might lose a bit more hair than when you use other shampoo. But once your scalp is becoming healthier and your hair stronger, hair loss will stop. 

Usage:

  • Wet your hair 
  • Take less than a tablespoon of the scrub
  • Massage the scrub into your scalp for 1-2 minutes
  • Add a bit more water until foam forms and continue massage for another minute 
  • Rinse it off
  • Use conditioner on hair end 

  
Favorite conditioner at the moment:

Kiehl’s amino acid conditioner

$7 2.5 fl oz / $19 6.8 fl oz

Available at Nordstrom

I tried a few Kiehl’s shampoo and body wash products in the past and was not particularly impressed. The products always smell really nice and were not bad but I just wasn’t hooked. I bought this conditioner during their Christmas promotion and so far it’s the best Kiehl’s hair product I tried and my favorite conditioner at the moment. I love its natural smell without too strong or artificial scent and how it moisturizes the hair while not creating a fake smooth feel. 

If you haven’t tried Kiehl’s hair products before, I recommend you try this one and start with the 2 oz tube to see if it works for you. You can get the product at a discounted price during its site promotion or promotion at other department stores a few times a year.

 
 

Leave a Reply

