It’s really hard to be a good manager

I came across this piece on Fast Company and I can’t agree more with it. 

The article features a new report from Gallup based on extensive rolling which reveals that only 10% of managers have what it takes to be a great manager.

Great managers are defined by their abilities to motivate employees, assert themselves to overcome obstacles, create a culture of accountability, build trusting relationships and make informed, unbiased decisions for the good of the team and the companies.

All of these are so true but rare to find and hard to achieve. I think about team management from time to time. But a lot of times when faced with deadlines and stress, I will usually turn to only the most efficient people in the team or simple do it myself without giving enough opportunities to others. Although I try different ways to motivate people, when things move fast, I will cut down the training time first. 

Becoming a good manger takes not only professional expertise, but also tremendous drive, perseverance, thoughtfulness and wisdom. I am still struggling with my own expectation of the role and the vision for the future, and will continue to work on the practice. 

What have you noticed in common among great managers?

Leave a Reply

