Over-the-knee boots are essential for fall/winter especially for places with cold winter where you have to walk often. They could add an instant sense of chicness to your otherwise ordinary outfit, and do the wonder of leg lengthening and effects 🙂

The SW5050 boots definitely made their name in the fashion world, yet they are pricey – yikes.. $600+..

Once there is a trend leader, there never lacks followers or recreations. I own 2 pairs of over-the-knee boots that are inspired by SW5050 yet both are less than $200. After you read this post, I can save you some well-earned money!

The first pair Charles by Charles David over-the-knee boots was a failure though for some reason had pretty good reviews from some fashion bloggers :/ This excerpt of review online is exactly how I felt after I tried those out: “My legs slide into them extremely easily. It is loose, especially around the ankles and as I walk, they gradually fall down bit by bit, causing bunching around the ankles. I pull them up and they fall again. Returning because they make my legs look stumpy and unflattering.”

Definitely a Do-Not-Buy red flag.

The 2nd pair Vince Camuto Karita Boots are a great choice! I’m always a fan of Vince Camuto shoes. They are usually comfortable, and their shoes’ design and quality are in line with the prices. This pair in particular feels very much alike SW5050, with the elastic parts hugging your calves, and are comfortable. These will get a lot of wear in the coming winter 🙂 You can get these from the Vince Camuto website (during boots sale if you want to wait for some discounts) or through Amazon.

If you like my post, you can follow me on instagram: mixmatchsmart

Leave a Reply

